NFHS Case Book

Rule 5 – Scoring and Timing Regulations

< Back to Table of Contents

5.1.1 - From Floor to Basket


A pass, a tap or a try for field goal by A1 comes down several feet in front of the basket in the middle of the third quarter. The ball strikes the floor without touching any player and bounces into the basket.

RULING: Two points are scored. The tap or the try for field goal by A1 ends when the ball touches the floor but a field goal is sometimes scored when it is not the result of a tap or a try. Credit the two points to A1. (4-41-2, 4-41-4, 4-41-5)


A pass, a tap or a try for field goal by A1 is in flight when the horn sounds indicating the expiration of time in the third quarter. The ball subsequently comes down several feet in front of the basket, strikes the floor without touching any player and bounces into the basket.

RULING: When deemed a pass and not a try, the ball becomes dead immediately when the horn sounds. However, a try or tap by A1 towards A’s basket does not become dead until the try or tap ends, which it does when it touches the floor. Therefore, no points are scored. (4-41-2, 4-41-4, 4-41-5)

5.2.1 - Three-Point Try


The score is Team A-62 and Team B-61 when the horn sounds to end the fourth quarter. Prior to the referee’s approval of the final score, the coach of Team A directs obscene gestures at the officials.

RULING: A technical foul is charged for unsporting behavior and the result of the free throws will determine which team wins or whether an extra period is required. (5-6-2 EXCEPTION 4, 10-5-1c)



Time expires to end the game with a score of 64 to 61. Immediately following the signal to end the fourth quarter, the officials are moving off the court toward a door to their dressing room. The referee enters the door and is in the hallway to the locker room, but the umpire is still in the court area when he/she notices the scorer frantically trying to get the officials’ attention due to a possible scorebook error.

RULING: Since one of the officials has not left the visual confines of the playing area, the game jurisdiction has not ended. The officials may work with scorer’s table personnel to rectify any errors.



Team B leads by a point with seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. A1 releases the ball on a try, but the noise level makes it difficult for the covering official (umpire) to hear the horn. The umpire signals a successful goal. The referee definitely hears the horn before A1 releases the ball, but does not realize the umpire counted the goal. The officials leave the visual confines of the playing area and are not aware of the controversy until the scorer comes to the officials’ dressing room.

RULING: Even though the referee could have canceled the score if the officials had conferred before leaving, once the officials leave the visual confines of the playing area, the final score is official and no change can be made. In situations such as this, it is imperative that officials communicate with each other and that they do not leave until any problem regarding scoring or timing has been resolved.

5.2.1 - Not a Try or Tap for Goal


Following the free throws for a technical foul, A1 makes a throw-in from out of bounds at the division line opposite the table. The throw-in pass is deflected at A’s free-throw line by: (a) A2; or (b) B1 and it then goes directly through A’s basket.

RULING: Score two points for Team A in both (a) and (b). The throw-in ended when the ball was touched by an inbounds player and the live ball subsequently passed through the basket. The fact it was not a tap or a try for goal does not affect the scoring of two points.  (4-41-4, 5-2-1)

5.2.1 - Jumpers Facing Wrong Direction


During the pregame practice period, the visiting team properly uses the east goal and the home team the west goal. The officials, by mistake, allow the jumpers to face the wrong direction to start the game. A1 controls the tap by tapping the ball back to A2. A2, realizing that he/she had warmed up at the basket behind A1, dribbles to that basket and scores an uncontested basket.

RULING: Score the basket for Team A. The officials should stop the game and emphasize to both teams the proper direction. The mistake is an official’s error by allowing A1 and B1 to face the wrong direction; not a correctable error.


During the pregame practice period, the visiting team properly uses the east goal and the home team the west goal. The officials, by mistake, allow the jumpers to face the wrong direction to start the game. Several baskets are scored before it is recognized that both teams are throwing the ball into the opponent’s basket.

RULING: All points scored count as if the teams had gone the right direction and scored in their own basket. Once the mistake is recognized, play shall continue with each team attempting to score in its own basket. (4-5-4)

5.2.3 - Crediting Points

A1 completes the throw-in to A2 to begin the second half. A2 is confused and dribbles toward the basket Team A used during the first half and dunks the ball into the basket of Team B.

RULING: Legal goal. Two points are awarded to Team B. The ball is bounced to a player of Team A out of bounds at the basket of Team B. Team A may put the ball in play from anywhere along the end line as after any score by B (earned or awarded). (5-2-1, 7-5-7)

5.2.5 - Three-Tenths of a Second or Less on the Clock


The game clock shows three-tenths of a second or less in the third quarter when A2: (a) taps the ball; or (b) grabs A1’s missed free throw or throw-in pass and quickly shoots. In both cases the ball leaves A2’s hand(s) before the end-of-period signal and goes through A’s basket.

RULING: Count the goal in (a), but not in (b).


With three-tenths of a second or less left in the first half, Team B has been charged with only four team fouls. A1 is at the free throw line for one free throw. A1’s shot hits the rim and bounds off. A2 legally taps the ball toward the basket and is fouled by B3. The ball had left A2’s hand and the foul occurred before the end-of-period signal. The tap is unsuccessful.

RULING: B3’s foul is considered in the “act of tapping” and will result in two free throws for A2. The lane will be cleared and the period ends after A2’s free throw attempts. (4-41-1, 4-41-5, 4-41-6, 4-41-7)


With three-tenths of a second or less left in a tied game, each team is in the bonus. Team A has a throw-in on the end line near their basket. A1 throws the ball to A5 on the near block who catches the ball and quickly shoots. A5 is fouled by B3 just prior to the end-of-period signal. The ball goes through A’s basket.

RULING: Since A5 may not control the ball and attempt a try with three-tenths of a second or less, A5 cannot score a goal and is not considered in the act of shooting. However, B3’s foul cannot be ignored and is considered a common foul. A5 is awarded a one-and-one bonus free-throw situation with the lane cleared. A5’s free throw attempts will determine if the game is over or if an overtime period is necessary. (4-41-6)

5.4.1 - Forfeiture


A1 commits his/her fifth personal foul. Both the head coach and player are properly notified. Team A has substitutes available but the head coach from Team A does not send a substitute to the table within the 15-second time limit. The Team A head coach is assessed a technical foul. The head coach still does not send a substitute to the table. 

RULING: The official should forfeit the contest to the opposing team for the head coach delaying the contest and attempting to make a travesty of the game. 

COMMENT: The referee may forfeit a game if any player, team member, bench personnel or coach fails to comply with any technical foul penalty.


The covering official calls a double foul on the post player and opponent after both push and shove each other. It is the fifth foul on each player. Some spectators in the crowd react vocally in a negative manner while others throw paper cups, etc., on the floor. The entire crowd seems to be in a hostile mood. What should the officials do?

RULING: The officials must ask game management or home management to control the spectators. The officials have authority to charge a technical foul(s) if it can be determined which team’s spectators are involved. However, much discretion is necessary in this case and the officials must be aware that a technical foul(s) on spectators usually leads to even more problems.

COMMENT: The game should not be forfeited to either team because of the action of spectators. If game or home management cannot restore order by removal or other means, the officials are authorized to suspend play. The game would then be continued from the point of interruption, unless the teams agree to terminate the game with the existing score, or there are conference, league or state association rules which apply.

5.6 - Ending a Quarter or Extra Period

A1 is fouled in the act of shooting by B1. A1’s try or tap is successful to make the score with Team A leading 62-58. When the foul occurs, the clock is stopped with 0:00 showing, but no end-of-quarter signal (horn or light) has indicated. 

RULING: A1 will attempt the free throw with lane spaces occupied as required. The fourth quarter time has not expired until the quarter-ending signal.

5.6.2 - Ending a Quarter or Extra Period


While the ball is in flight during a try by A1, time for the second quarter expires after which B1 touches the attempt on its upward flight toward the basket, however, the ball subsequently goes through the basket.

RULING: The touching does not end the try. The goal is scored. (4-41-4, 5-6-2 EXCEPTION 1)


Time for the first quarter expires while the ball is in flight during a field-goal try by A1. B1 intentionally fouls A2 before the field-goal attempt has ended. After the ball has become dead following the last free throw by A2, A3 flagrantly fouls B1.

RULING: A3 is disqualified for a flagrant technical foul. Because the foul by A3 was committed after the first quarter had ended. The second quarter will begin with the free-throw attempts by any Team B player. Team B is then awarded the ball at the division line opposite the table for a throw-in. This throw-in does not affect the possession arrow. (7-5-4b, 10-4-7)


The ball is in flight during a try by A1 when time for the fourth quarter or for any extra period expires. The try is successful to make the score: (a) A-60, B-60; or (b) A-61, B-60. Clearly after the ball becomes dead, A2 contacts B1.

RULING: A technical foul is charged if contact during a dead ball is intentional or flagrant. If flagrant, it results in disqualification in addition to the free throws. In (a), an extra period is played and this extra period is started by administering the penalty for the technical foul. If this occurrence is after an extra period, the procedure is the same as after the fourth quarter. The next extra period starts with the penalty for the technical foul. In (b), the free throws are treated the same as if they were part of the preceding quarter or extra period. If only one free throw is successful, an extra period is played and the overtime period is started with a jump. If neither or if both free throws are successful, the game is ended. (5-6-2 EXCEPTION 3, 5-6-2 EXCEPTION 4, 7-5-6a, 10-4-7)


Team A trails 60 to 59 with just a few seconds remaining in the fourth quarter of play. A1 is fouled in the act of shooting by B1 but time expires before the ball is in flight. A1 is awarded two free throws. The coach of Team B is charged with a technical foul before A1’s attempts. A1 makes: (a) neither throw; (b) one throw; or (c) both throws. When does Team A shoot the free throws resulting from the technical foul?

RULING: In (a) and (b), the two free throws for the technical foul are attempted as part of the fourth quarter as the foul occurred before the fourth quarter had ended. In (a), the two free throws for the technical foul will determine if an extra period is necessary. In (b), the one successful free throw ties the game and if either free throw for the technical foul is successful, no extra period is required. In (c), the two successful free throws dictate there will be no extra period. The free throws for the technical foul are not administered as the outcome of the game has been determined. A quarter or extra period does not end until all free throws which could affect the outcome of the game have been attempted and related activity has been completed. (4-41-1, 5-6-2 EXCEPTION 3, 6-7-7)


A1 has been awarded two free throws after time has expired in the fourth quarter. Team B leads 62 to 60 and A1 misses the first free throw.

RULING: The second free throw will not be attempted. (5-6-2 EXCEPTION 3)


Following the end-of-game signal which has Team A leading 62 to 60, the coach of Team A sprints after the game officials and shouts profanity at the referee who has just left the playing court outside the end line.

RULING: The referee shall charge the coach with a flagrant technical foul and the results of the two free throws will determine whether an extra period will be necessary. The jurisdiction of the officials had not ended as the referee was still within the visual confines of the playing area. (2-2-4)


The score is tied when A1 is fouled in the act of shooting and the try is unsuccessful. Playing time for the fourth quarter expires while the ball is in flight. No players are allowed along the lane. A1’s first free-throw attempt is successful. Immediately following the made free throw the occupants of the Team A bench rush onto the court and a mini celebration takes place.

RULING: The second free throw is not required. No penalty unless the celebration or any act is unsporting and a foul is charged to Team A before the final score has been approved. (5-6-2 EXCEPTION 3)


Team A is leading 61 to 60. B1 fouls A1 in the act of shooting as time expires. As the officials approach the scorer’s table, the Team A coach rushes the floor and begins screaming obscenities at the officials.

RULING: A flagrant technical foul is assessed to the Team A coach. The foul at the expiration of time is no longer ignored. The flagrant technical foul on the Team A coach created a false double foul situation, which may affect the outcome of the game. The penalties are administered in the order in which they occurred. With the lane cleared, A1 shoots two free throws for being fouled in the act of shooting. If both are successful, the game is over. If one or both are missed, an eligible player from Team B shoots the two technical foul free throws. The free throws will determine the outcome of the game or an extra period will be played.

COMMENT: Jurisdiction of the officials is terminated when all officials leave the visual confines of the playing area. While the preferred action would be for all officials to immediately leave the playing area, such an observable action by the coach should be penalized as unsporting or flagrant. (4-19-9, 5-6-2 EXCEPTION 3, 10-5-1c)


During the pregame warm-up, the officials observe that the facility has functioning LED lights on each backboard. A1 begins the act of shooting just prior to the expiration of time in the first quarter. The covering official observes the attempt in A1’s hands when the LED light is activated, but the ball appears to be out of the hands when the horn is sounded. The ball goes in the basket.

RULING: No goal; the quarter expired prior to the release of the try.

COMMENT: Red/LED lights provide a visual reference for officials to determine when a period has ended. The red/LED lights and the horn are expected to be synchronized, but since light travels faster than sound, it may appear that one follows the other. The red/LED lights give a more precise indication that a period has expired. (1-14, 6-7-6)

5.7.1- Overtime or Not

The score is B-62, A-60 when A1 is fouled with no time on the clock in the fourth quarter. The horn sounds immediately after the foul is called. Team A is not in the bonus but erroneously A1 is awarded a bonus and makes both free throws to tie the score. Team B controls the jump to start the overtime and B1 scores to make it 64 to 62. Before the ball becomes live on the subsequent throw-in, the scorer alerts the officials regarding a correctable-error situation.

RULING: The error is corrected by canceling the two erroneous free throws. However, once the overtime started with the ball becoming live, the extra period cannot be canceled even though the points were. The score is B-64, A-60 and the overtime continues with the throw-in by Team A. (2-10-1b, 2-11-11, 5-7-4)

5.7.3 - Length of Extra Period Incorrect

Following a violation in the first extra period, the timer beckons the referee to the table. The timer informs the referee that by mistake the period started with: (a) more; or (b) less than four minutes on the clock.

RULING: In (a), if the mistake is discovered before the clock reaches four minutes, the clock shall be set at four minutes and play resumes. If discovered after reaching four minutes, no correction is allowed. In (b), the appropriate amount of time shall be added to reflect a four-minute period. (2-5-5)

5.7.4 - Overtime Continues

B1 fouls A1. Team A is in the bonus, but the official erroneously awards the ball to Team A for a throw-in. A1’s throw-in is intercepted by B1 who scores a goal. A1’s throw-in is controlled by A2 who dribbles into Team A’s midcourt and then asks for a time-out. During the time-out, the scorer advises the referee that Team A was in the bonus when B1 fouled A1.

RULING: It is too late to correct the error. The error could have been corrected anytime during the dead ball following the goal by B1, as this was the first dead ball after the clock started following the error.

5.8.3 - Time-out Requests


A1 fouls B1. The official who made the call moves toward the reporting area. A2 immediately signals the free official for a time-out. Momentarily thereafter, the scorer notifies the calling official that A1 has fouled out.

RULING: A1 must be replaced before the time-out is granted.

COMMENT: The first responsibility the calling official has is to report the foul to the scorer. Officials should not be hasty in granting an immediate time-out after the game has reached a point that players may begin to foul out. Rather, they should take a second or two after reporting the foul to see if the scorer may report a disqualification. (2-8-4, 10-5-2)


Following a time-out, both teams are at the sideline with respective coaches after all signals have been given prior to a throw-in by Team A. Team A or Team B requests a time-out: (a) before; or (b) after, the official places the ball on the floor at the throw-in spot.

RULING: In (a), either team may be granted a time-out. In (b), Team A may, but Team B may not be granted a time-out after the ball is at A’s disposal.


A1 fouls B2. The scorer notifies the nearest official that this is A1’s fifth foul. The official notifies the coach of Team A of the disqualification. The official then instructs the timer to begin the 15-second replacement period. The official then notifies A1. After 10 seconds have elapsed: (a) the captain of Team A; or (b) the captain of Team B requests a time-out. 

RULING: In (a) and (b), the time-out request is denied as disqualified A1 must be replaced prior to any time-out being granted to either team. (2-8-4, 10-5-2)


A1 or A2 requests a time-out: (a) while airborne A1 is holding the ball; (b) while A1’s throw-in is in flight toward A2; or (c) when the ball is on the floor at A1’s disposal for a throw-in.

RULING: The request is granted in (a) and (c), but denied in (b), as there is no player control while the ball is loose between players.


A1 is dribbling the ball in his/her backcourt when: (a) the Team B head coach requests and is erroneously granted a time-out by an official; or (b) the Team A head coach is yelling “side out” offensive instructions to his/her team and the official stops play believing the coach requested a time-out.

RULING: In (a), Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was requested and granted; once granted it cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams. Play will resume with a Team A throw-in nearest to where play was stopped. In (b), an inadvertent whistle has occurred. Team A was not requesting a time-out, and therefore, should not be granted or charged with one. Play is resumed at the point of interruption. (4-36-1, 4-36-2a)


A1’s dribble is “interrupted” when the ball deflects off his/her shoe. A1 or a teammate asks or signals for a time-out as the ball bounces toward: (a) the sideline; or (b) the division line.

RULING: The request cannot be granted in (a) or (b), since A1’s dribble has been “interrupted” and the ball is loose. (4-15-6c)

5.8.4 - Error - Not Correctable


The appeal of the coach of Team A to an official, made while the ball is dead and the clock is stopped, is made when it is too late for correction of an error.

RULING: Following the conference, the 60-second time-out remains charged to Team A and they are given the privilege of utilizing whatever time remains. The official will terminate the discussion with the coach immediately upon making a decision. If the discussion takes more than one minute, only one 60-second time-out is charged. (2-10-2, 5-11-4)


The head coach from Team A requests a 60-second time-out to rectify a timing error. The referee grants the time-out to investigate the matter, but determines that no correction can be made. The scorer then informs the referee that Team A cannot be charged a 60-second time-out as they only have one 30-second time-out remaining.

RULING: Since they have no 60-second time-outs remaining and there was no timing correction made, Team A will be charged their remaining 30-second time-out regardless of the amount of time consumed. (5-11-4)

5.9.3 - Clock Starts on Touching


With two seconds on the clock in the fourth quarter, A1 is awarded one free throw with Team B leading 68 to 66. A1 throws the ball against the backboard and it ricochets off the ring with such force that A1 secures the rebound. A1’s try for goal is successful as time expires.

RULING: Legal goal by A1. The clock started when A1 touched the ball. (5-9-3, 9-1-3a)


Thrower A1 holds the ball through the throw-in boundary plane and B1 slaps the ball out of his/her hands.

RULING: The clock starts when it is released by A1 as it simultaneously has been touched on the court by B1. If this had been an alternating-possession throw-in, the arrow would be reversed.

5.9.4 - Clock Starts on Touching


The official and visiting scorers do not agree on the number of fouls charged to A1.

RULING: The referee is notified and if the reason for the discrepancy cannot be determined, the referee will accept the record of the official scorebook.



The scorer fails to record two points awarded to Team A by the official during the first quarter as a result of basket interference by B1.

RULING: The score may be corrected any time it is discovered before the final score is approved. This situation is not due to the inadvertent setting aside of a rule but is the result of a mistake in record keeping. When there is a discrepancy in the score which is correctable and the referee is positive he/she knows what caused the problem, the referee shall order the correction to be made.

5.10.1 - Timing Mistakes and Corrections


The score is tied with two seconds remaining in the game. A1 is awarded a bonus free throw. After the ball had been placed at the disposal of A1, B1 disconcerts A1. The free-throw attempt is missed. The timer does not hear the official’s whistle sound and permits the clock to start. May the referee put the two seconds back on the clock?

RULING: Yes. The rules provide “…the referee may correct the mistake when he/she has definite information relative to time involved.” The referee not only orders the timer to put two seconds back on the clock but also awards A1 a substitute throw for the distraction by B1.


Team A leads by one point when they inbound the ball in their backcourt with 12 seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. A1’s throw-in pass is to A2 who dribbles in the backcourt until the horn sounds. The trail official does not make a 10-second call because he/she “lost the count.”

RULING: The game is over. The clock may not be reset as there are no rule provisions to do this. If the count was not accurate or was not made, it cannot be corrected. There is no provision for the correction of an error made in the official’s accuracy in counting seconds.


As the official calls a three-second lane violation, he/she properly sounds the whistle and gives the signal to stop the clock. While doing this, the official is able to see the exact time remaining in the fourth quarter. The clock shows five seconds remaining. The timer stops the clock: (a) at five seconds; (b) at four seconds; (c) at three seconds; or (d) the time runs out completely.

RULING: No correction is needed in (a). In (b), (c) and (d), the referee will order five seconds put on the clock.


There are six seconds left on the clock in the fourth quarter and the ball is out of bounds in the possession of Team A. The throw-in by A1 touches the referee on the court and then goes across the court and out of bounds. The timer permits two seconds to run off the clock. What recourse does the coach of either team have in such situation?

RULING: Either coach may step to the scorer’s table and request a 60-second time-out and have the referee come to the table. The coach is permitted to do this under provisions of the coach’s rule. The referee shall come to the sideline and confer with one or both coaches and the timer about the matter; and if the referee has definite knowledge that there were six seconds on the clock when the ball was awarded to Team A for the throw-in, it is the responsibility of the referee to have the two seconds put back on the clock. The timer and scorer and the other official(s) can be used by the referee to gain definite information. If there is no mistake or if it cannot be rectified, the requesting team will be charged with a 60-second time-out. (5-8-4, 5-11-4 EXCEPTION b, 10-6-1c)


Team A scores a goal to lead by four points with 10 seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Team B then quickly scores with approximately five seconds remaining; now trailing by two points. Team A expects to withhold the ball out of bounds for the throw-in with the time remaining (less than five seconds). The timer mistakenly stops the clock shortly following the Team B goal; the game clock reads 4.0 seconds remaining. The official sounds the whistle, (a) immediately to address the timing mistake; (b) after reaching a throw-in count of three to address the timing mistake; or (c) upon reaching a five-second throw-in count on Team A.

RULING: In (a) and (b), Team A will have a throw-in from anywhere along the end line with (a) no change to the game clock; and (b) the game clock corrected to display 1.0 seconds. In (c), the game is over as time has expired.

COMMENT: An official’s count may be used to correct a timing mistake. (5-10-2)

5.10.2 - Timing Mistakes and Corrections

Team A’s scorebook is the official scorebook for the game. Team A’s scorer is requested by Team A’s head coach to bring the scorebook to the locker room at halftime to review several pieces of information.

RULING: Prohibited; the scorebook shall remain at the table throughout the game, including all intermissions. There is no specific penalty for removing the scorebook; however, if the officials believe the scorebook was removed as an unsporting act, it could be penalized accordingly. (10-2-4, 10-4-6, 10-5-1)

5.11.1 - Time-outs Remaining


The coach for Team A requests a 30-second time-out, but it is discovered that he/she does not have a 30-second time-out remaining, but does have one 60-second time-out remaining. The official grants the coach a 60-second time-out.

RULING: The official was correct to grant the coach of Team A the last of his/her 60-second time-outs since the coach had already used two 60-second time-outs and two 30-second time-outs.



The state association has contractually arranged to have live telecasts of state semi-final and final games. One TV time-out each quarter will be permitted (at first dead ball closest to 3:30 remaining in quarter). The state association permits each team to have: (a) Two (2) 60 and two (2) 30-second time-outs; (b) one (1) 60 and three (3) 30-second time-outs; (c) no 60 and four (4) 30-second time-outs; or (d) one (1) 60 and two (2) 30-second time-outs.

RULING: State associations may reduce the number of charged time-outs, therefore, correct procedure in (a), (b), (c) and (d). (5-11-1 NOTE)

5.11.2 - Shortened Time-out

Team A requests and is granted a 60-second time-out. After approximately 15 seconds of the time-out period has elapsed: (a) Team A comes back on the court ready to play while Team B players stay at their bench; (b) Team B is ready but Team A is not; or (c) both teams take positions and appear ready to resume play.

RULING: In (a) and (b), the time-out period will continue as only one team is ready to play. In (c), the game will resume as soon as both teams are ready to play.

5.11.5 - Time-out Requests/Starting Game or Extra Period


Team B requests a time-out: (a) as the teams position for the jump ball to start the game; (b) just prior to the toss on the jump to start the game; or (c) following the first free throw for a technical foul which occurred prior to the start of the game. Should the official grant the request?

RULING: The request should be denied in (a) and (b), but granted in (c). The game must be started with the ball becoming live or by a violation or foul prior to this before a time-out request can be honored. In (c), the ball became live when it was at the disposal of the free thrower.


Regulation play ends with a tied score. Team A has used all of its allotted time-outs. Team A requests a time-out before the overtime period begins.

RULING: The time-out should not be granted. The additional 60-second time-out provided for each extra period(s) shall not be granted until after the ball has become live to start the extra period(s).

5.11.7 - Successive Time-outs


Airborne shooter A1 is fouled by B1 with the try in flight. The horn then sounds ending the fourth quarter playing time. The ball continues its flight and goes through the basket to tie the score. Before A1 attempts the free throw as part of the fourth quarter, Team B captain requests and is granted a 60-second time-out. Team A or B captain then requests a 30-second time-out during the same dead-ball period.

RULING: The second request is denied. At the end of playing time for the fourth quarter or any overtime period, successive time-outs shall not be granted. This means a time-out cannot be granted either team until the clock has run in the extra period – assuming the free throw is missed. Successive time-outs may be granted in all situations except after time has expired in the fourth quarter or any extra period.


Following the expiration of time for the first extra period, the coach of Team B is charged with a technical foul. Team B requests a time-out before the free throws are administered to start the second extra period. The time-out request is granted. Thereafter, the official administers the first free throw to A1. Following the attempt: (a) Team B; or (b) Team A, then requests a time-out.

RULING: The request cannot be granted in either (a) or (b), as it would be consid­ered a successive time-out. The fact that the ball did become live between the two requests has no bearing on the ruling. Another time-out request by either team cannot be honored until after the clock has started in the second extra period.